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Introduction 
The Implementation Manual for the Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program (Implementation 
Manual) explains terms (see Terms and Abbreviations) and processes associated with the 
Program requirements and as explained in the Terms and Conditions and laid out in Oregon 
Administrative Rule and Oregon law. The Administrator is responsible for ensuring that 
Applicants meet all Program requirements and may consult with DEQ to verify requirements are 
met. 

The Implementation Manual and Terms and Conditions will be periodically updated to clarify 
Program requirements in response to changes in legislative or regulatory requirements or based 
on DEQ’s interpretation of the relevant statutes and rules. Changes to Program requirements 
may impact an Applicant’s eligibility for the Program. 

This Implementation Manual, including updates, will be published on the OCVRP webpage at 
evrebate.oregon.gov. This document is intended to explain the administrative rules and 
statutory requirements that apply to the Program but is not a substitute for those sources of 
authority, and, in the event of a conflict between this document and those sources of authority, 
those sources of authority will apply. 
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I. Background 
In 2017, House Bill (HB) 2017 was passed by the Oregon Legislature and signed into law by 
Governor Brown. HB 2017 established Oregon’s transportation budget for the next seven (7) 
fiscal years and authorized the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) to establish 
a rebate program for the purchase of qualifying zero-emission vehicles, the Oregon Clean 
Vehicle Rebate Program (OCVRP). 

The 2018 Oregon Legislature adopted House Bill 4059 which clarified and removed existing 
requirements to participate in OCVRP. Oregon Administrative Rule (OAR) Division 270 of chapter 
340 (OAR 340-270), the Zero-Emission and Electric Vehicles Rebates, implements HB 4059 by 
establishing a rebate program and eligibility requirements for the purchase or lease of new or 
used qualifying zero-emission vehicles in Oregon. In May 2018, the Zero Emission and Electric 
Vehicle Rebates rulemaking was adopted by the Environmental Quality Commission (DEQ's 
policy commission) which established the Program requirements. The 2019 Oregon Legislature 
adopted House Bill 2592, which made further adjustments to clarify Program requirements and 
expand Program eligibility. Subsequent legislative changes in 2021, House Bill 2165, further 
modified the Charge Ahead Rebate program. 

Funding for the Program is generated from a tax imposed on car dealers for “the privilege of 
engaging in the business of selling taxable motor vehicles at retail in this state.” DEQ receives 
45% of a tax imposed on car dealers for the “privilege of engaging in the business of selling 
taxable motor vehicles at retain the state,” or at least $12 million per year for the Program. In 
2025, the Program also has $31 million in Climate Equity and Resilience Through Action 
grant funding for Charge Ahead Rebates. 

The OCVRP offers a rebate for Oregon residents who purchase or lease certain electric vehicles 
and who comply with all application and Program requirements. The Program is designed to 
reduce vehicle emissions by encouraging more Oregonians to purchase or lease electric vehicles 
rather than gas vehicles, thereby advancing progress toward the state’s greenhouse gas 
reduction goals. The Program is administered and implemented through a partnership between 
DEQ and the Center for Sustainable Energy (Administrator), selected via a competitive DEQ 
grant solicitation. 

 

II. Program Overview 
The Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program (OCVRP) offers rebates to Oregon drivers who 
purchase or lease certain electric vehicles and who comply with all application and Program 
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requirements. The Program provides rebates to qualified individuals or organizations such as 
businesses, public and Oregon state agencies and entities, and nonprofit organizations for the 
purchase or lease of eligible vehicles. 

There are two (2) rebates offered through OCVRP: the Standard Rebate and the Charge Ahead 
Rebate. The Standard Rebate is available to eligible Applicants who purchase or lease certain 
new eligible, zero-emission vehicles. The Charge Ahead Rebate provides low or moderate- 
income households and low-income service providers a rebate toward the purchase or lease of 
eligible new or used zero-emission vehicles. Applicants may only receive one of the following 
rebates: OCVRP Charge Ahead Rebate, OCVRP Standard Rebate or a “Zero Emission Rebates 
for Oregon Fleets – ZEROFleet” rebate. An applicant may not receive more than one of these 
rebates on a given vehicle. These rebates may not be combined.  

The Standard Rebate and the Charge Ahead Rebate can be obtained either at the point-of-sale 
from a Participating Dealership or by the consumer after taking possession of the vehicle. In 
order for the Charge Ahead Rebate to be obtained at the point-of-sale, an application for 
prequalification must be completed and approved through DEQ. 

Additional information about OCVRP is available at evrebate.oregon.gov. The Program website 
is maintained by the Administrator and includes the list of eligible vehicles, rebate amounts, the 
online rebate application, required documentation and forms, and program statistics. 

 

III. Vehicle Eligibility Requirements 
Vehicles must meet the following criteria to be an eligible vehicle in the Program: 

1. Must be in an eligible vehicle category as of the vehicle category effective date (see 
Eligible Vehicle Categories and Effective Dates). After-market vehicle conversions are 
not eligible. 

2. Must be an eligible vehicle model at the time of purchase or lease (see Eligible Vehicle 
Models). 

3. Must be purchased through a certified vehicle dealer or an original equipment 
manufacturer (“OEM”). No person-to-person sales are eligible. 

4. Have a base Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) of less than $50,000if a battery 
electric or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. Fuel cell vehicles must have a MSRP of less than 
$60,000. 

5. For the Standard Rebate, the vehicle must be a New Eligible Vehicle (see Terms and 
Abbreviations) as indicated on the purchase or lease agreement. 

https://evrebate.oregon.gov/
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a. Vehicles that are not new, are pre-owned, have been re-leased, previously 
registered, are a third-party lease, have been transferred to Oregon after being 
registered out-of-state, or are constructed with parts that have been 
previously subject to a retail sale are not eligible for the Standard Rebate. If 
the required documentation does not satisfactorily prove that the vehicle is 
new, other documentation may be requested to satisfy this requirement at the 
Administrator’s discretion. 

b. Eligible vehicles used as floor model and test drive vehicles can receive a rebate if 
the vehicle has not been previously registered. Floor model and test drive 
vehicles that are previously registered are not eligible. The Administrator will use 
specific procedures when processing rebate applications for floor model and test 
drive vehicles. Additional documentation from the dealership may be required 
(see Eligibility Criteria for Floor Models, Test Drive, Rollback and Unwind 
Vehicles). 

6. For the Charge Ahead Rebate, used vehicles must have met eligibility requirements for 
the Standard Rebate at the time of vehicle manufacture. This requirement 
can be met if the used vehicle is a direct predecessor of a model that meets the 
requirements for new vehicles. 

7. No aftermarket vehicle conversions are eligible for the Program. 

Eligible Vehicle Categories and Effective Dates 
Categories of vehicles eligible for funding under the OCVRP are defined in the Department of 
Environmental Quality’s rules, OAR 340-270-0030 (see Terms and Abbreviations): 

1. Light-Duty Zero Emission Vehicles (ZEVs) 

2. Light-Duty Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicles (PHEVs) 

3. Zero-Emission Motorcycles (ZEMs) 

To be qualified for this Program, DEQ requires proof that the vehicle has successfully 
completed the most current California Zero-Emission Motorcycle Evaluation Procedure, 
as defined in California’s Implementation Manual for the Clean Vehicle Rebate Project 
and Issuance of a “pass” determination and verification that the vehicle meets the 
specified range and acceleration requirement by the California Air Resources Board. 
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4. Neighborhood Electric Vehicles (NEVs) 

DEQ requires a certification to zero-emission standards in California Code of regulations 
Title 13 section 1962.2 to show a vehicle meets these specifications. 

Eligibility of the vehicle categories has changed over time. Table 1 outlines the date of eligibility 
of vehicle categories for the Standard and Charge Ahead rebates. 

Table 1 Vehicle Category Effective Dates 
 

Vehicle Category Standard Rebate 
Eligibility 

Charge Ahead Rebate 
Eligibility 

ZEV - New January 1, 2018 January 1, 2018 
PHEV - New January 1, 2018 September 29, 2019 
NEV - New January 1, 2019 N/A 
ZEM - New January 1, 2019 N/A 
ZEV - Used N/A January 1, 2018 
PHEV - Used N/A September 29, 2019 

 

Eligible Vehicle Models 
Vehicle models will be reviewed by DEQ to verify they meet Program rule requirements on a 
model-year basis and placed on the Program’s List of Eligible Vehicles to receive a rebate. The 
List of Eligible Vehicles will be periodically updated as DEQ adds eligible vehicles to the 
Program. 

In order for a vehicle to be listed on the Program’s List of Eligible Vehicles, the vehicle 
manufacturer shall submit documentation to DEQ to confirm that the vehicle meets the 
eligibility criteria as defined for the vehicle type. DEQ will work with the vehicle manufacturer to 
ensure that all documentation is received and request any additional information needed to 
determine eligibility. If the vehicle meets the eligibility requirements set forth in OAR 340-270 
and the Vehicle Eligibility Requirements section of the Implementation Manual, DEQ will add 
the vehicle to the List of Eligible Vehicles and calculate the rebate amount. Once the vehicle is 
added to the List of Eligible Vehicles, an application can be submitted for the vehicle. 

Eligibility Criteria for Floor Models, Test Drive, Rollback and Unwind Vehicles 
Vehicle eligibility for floor model, test drive, rollback and unwind vehicles will be reviewed on a 
case-by-case basis. The Administrator, with input from DEQ, will review the documentation 
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associated with these vehicles to determine vehicle eligibility. The Administrator will require 
attestation from the dealership confirming the vehicles meet the eligibility criteria below to 
qualify as a new vehicle. 

It is the responsibility of the Applicant to verify that the vehicle has not previously received a 
rebate. A vehicle is considered to have not previously received a rebate if the original ownership 
has elapsed, or the full rebate amount is returned to the Program. 

1. Floor Model and Test Drive Vehicles 

Floor Model and Test Drive Vehicles are provided by an OEM to car dealerships for the 
purpose of test drives and other consumer interactions. Dealerships may temporarily 
operate a floor model or test drive vehicle on public roads with “dealer” license plates 
for the purpose of test drives. Use of floor model or test drive vehicles on public roads 
with “dealer” license plates do not require vehicle registration with the Oregon 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). For the purposes of the Program, these vehicles 
will be considered new and are eligible vehicles for both Standard and Charge Ahead 
rebates if their odometer reflects less than 7,500 miles and meets all other Program 
requirements. As these vehicles typically reflect a USED status on the vehicle at the time 
of sale, the Administrator will require documentation showing that the dealership is 
attesting to the fact that the car is an unregistered floor model or test drive vehicle 
(demo vehicle). Any floor model/test drive vehicle that was previously registered is not 
considered new and will not be eligible for a Standard Rebate. 

2. Rollback and Unwind Vehicles 

A rollback is a vehicle returned to a dealership shortly after being purchased or leased 
and operated by a buyer. An unwind occurs when an Application for Registration 
Renewal, Replacement or Transfer of Plates and/or Stickers is completed, but the sale or 
lease of the vehicle was not consummated, and the buyer never took delivery. While 
these vehicles may have been temporarily registered and not permanently registered 
with the Oregon DMV, the sale or lease was never completed. The vehicle was either 
returned or never delivered. As these vehicles typically reflect a USED status on the 
vehicle, the Administrator will require documentation showing that the dealership is 
attesting to the fact that the car is a rollback or unwind. 
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Charge Ahead Vehicle Eligibility Requirements 
Eligible vehicles can be found on the Charge Ahead Eligible Vehicle List. New and used vehicles 
are eligible for Charge Ahead if they meet the Vehicle Eligibility Requirements. 

ZEM and NEV vehicles are not eligible for a Charge Ahead Rebate. Applicants are prohibited 
from applying for a rebate for a vehicle that they have previously owned or leased. 

 

IV. Applicant Eligibility Requirements 
As a condition for receiving a rebate (either as the Applicant or as a Dealership applying on 
behalf of the Applicant), the Applicant must comply with all requirements imposed by law for 
the Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program, including 2017 Or. Law Ch. 750 Sec. 148-157, 2018 
Or. Law Ch. 93, Sec. 18-21, 2019 Or. Law Ch. 491, Sec. 35-37, 2021 Or. Law Ch. 95, Sec. 4a, 5, 6, 8, 
and 9, and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) Chapter 340, Division 270. The Applicant is 
responsible for reviewing the Program requirements prior to applying for a rebate. The 
Applicant may only receive one of the following rebates: OCVRP Charge Ahead Rebate, 
OCVRP Standard Rebate or a “Zero Emission Rebates for Oregon Fleets – ZEROFleet” rebate. 
An applicant may not receive more than one of these rebates on a given vehicle. These rules 
and requirements are summarized in the Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program Terms and 
Conditions. The Applicant must meet the following eligibility criteria to participate in the 
Program: 

1. Be an Oregon resident, an organization such as a business or non-profit based in Oregon 
or with an Oregon-based affiliate at the time of vehicle purchase or lease, or an Oregon 
state government or public entity. All businesses must be licensed to operate in Oregon. 

a. The Applicant must be listed on the purchase/lease agreement. 

b. Charge Ahead Applicants must meet income eligibility criteria at the time of 
vehicle purchase or lease, as described in the Charge Ahead Income Eligibility 
Requirements Section. The Applicant who completes income verification must 
be listed on all required documentation submitted for the rebate. 

c. Charge Ahead applicants can also be a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization based 
in Oregon or with a current Oregon-based affiliate, that can attest to being a 
low-income service provider that provides health, dental, social, financial, 
energy conservation or other assistive services to low- or moderate-income 
households in Oregon. 

https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2017orlaw0750.pdf
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=4539
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2. Purchase or lease an eligible vehicle as specified in Eligible Vehicle Models Section. 

a. New vehicles are eligible for both Standard and Charge Ahead rebates. Used 
vehicles are eligible for the Charge Ahead Rebate only. 

b. Vehicles obtained as a gift, or a prize are not eligible for a rebate. 

c. Vehicles must be purchased at a certified dealership or an OEM. If a vehicle is 
purchased through an OEM, the OEM cannot have any licensed, franchised, new 
automobile dealerships in Oregon. 

3. Submit an OCVRP application within six (6) months (180 days) of the vehicle 
purchase or lease date and prior to the exhaustion of available funds. 

a. For the purposes of OCVRP, the date of purchase or lease is the day the sales 
agreement is signed. For Tesla and other new vehicles ordered without a 
standard purchase agreement, the purchase date will be the date of registration. 

b. All required documents must be submitted at the time of application submission. 
Notices will be sent out via email if additional documentation is needed to 
complete an application. It is the Applicant’s responsibility to check their emails 
related to OCVRP. Applicants whose applications cancel because required 
documentation was not submitted within the required timeframe will need to 
reapply if the applicant remains eligible. Eligibility will be reviewed based on the 
Terms and Conditions in place at the time a new application is submitted. 
Extensions will not be granted. 

 

4. To obtain the Standard Rebate or the Charge Ahead Rebate at the point-of-sale/lease, 
obtain a new or used vehicle at a Participating Dealership. Applicants can assign the 
rebate to a vehicle dealer, or to an OEM that does not have licensed franchised new 
automobile dealers in Oregon by executing a vehicle purchase/lease contract with a 
Participating Dealership and signing the acknowledgement that the dealership has 
provided the rebate. The Administrator will transfer the entirety of rebate funds to that 
dealership. The Participating Dealership will then complete the submission of the 
required documents, including a complete copy of the purchase/lease agreement, 
registration paperwork, proof of residency, and a Rebate Assignment Form. 

 

a. For Charge Ahead Rebates, applicants must also have a prequalification voucher 
to receive the rebate at the point-of-sale/lease of new or used vehicles. 
Prequalification vouchers can be obtained by applying on the DEQ webform. 
Name, contact information, household member information and proof of 
income 

https://evrebate.oregon.gov/eligible-dealerships
https://apps.oregon.gov/deq/voucher/apply/?utm_source=DEQ&utm_medium=egov_redirect&utm_campaign=https%3A%2F%2Focvrp.oregon.gov%2Fapply


Page 12 of 34 | 2025 

   
 

 

eligibility are required for the application. Proof of income can be demonstrated 
by providing proof of enrollment in an approved income-eligible program 
(detailed in IV.A.ii.1 of this manual) or authorizing Department of Revenue (DOR) 
to provide DEQ with tax-related information to confirm eligibility for the 
applicant and all household members age 18 and older. 

5. Retain ownership of the vehicle in Oregon for a minimum of twenty-four (24) 
consecutive months immediately after the vehicle purchase or lease date. 

a. If leased, the original lease must be a minimum of twenty-four (24) months. 
Lease extensions and lease buyouts for leases that do not meet this 
minimum requirement at the time of the original lease are not eligible for a 
rebate. Updated contracts to reflect a longer lease term cannot be 
accepted. 

b. Applicants who do not retain the eligible vehicle for the full twenty-four (24) 
month ownership or lease period will be required to reimburse DEQ all or part of 
the original rebate amount (see Vehicle Ownership Provision). 

6. Register the new or used vehicle with the Oregon DMV for a minimum of twenty-four 
(24) consecutive months from the original purchase or lease date. 

a. The Applicant must be listed on the Registration. For all new vehicles, the 
Applicant must be the first registered owner of the vehicle. 

7. For organizations such as business, non-profit and Oregon state government or public 
entity Applicants: submit annual vehicle usage reports to the Administrator for a period 
of at least twenty-four (24) months. Required data may include but is not limited to 
mileage reporting and annual fuel use by fuel type. Usage requests will be sent to the 
contact on file for the organization. If contact information changes during this time 
period, it is the organization’s responsibility to notify the Administrator so that it can be 
updated on the application. Failure to submit annual usage data is a breach of the 
Terms and Conditions of participation in the Program and DEQ may request the 
Administrator to begin enforcement activities to collect all or part of the rebate that was 
issued for the vehicle. 

8. Not make or allow any modifications to the vehicle’s emissions control systems, 
hardware, software calibrations or hybrid system. 

9. Be available for follow-up inspection if requested by the Administrator, DEQ or any other 



Page 13 of 34 | 2025 

   
 

 

of DEQ’s designees for the purposes of project oversight and accountability. 

10. Rebate checks must be cashed within two (2) years of the date on the check. Checks 
not cashed within this timeframe will be canceled and the rebate amount returned to 
the Program. 

Charge Ahead Income Eligibility Requirements 
In addition to the requirements listed above, Applicants must meet the following requirements 
to be eligible for the Charge Ahead Rebate. Charge Ahead is available for individual Applicants 
in which eligibility is based upon income and for low-income service providers which is defined 
as an organization that provides health, dental, social, financial, energy conservation or other 
assistive services to low- or moderate-income households in Oregon. Providers must be 
registered as a 501(c)(3) organization based in Oregon or have an Oregon-based affiliate at the 
time the eligible vehicle is purchased or leased. Applicants who are claimed as dependents are 
not eligible for Charge Ahead Rebates regardless of their income. Applicants who are trusts are 
not eligible for Charge Ahead. 

 

At the discretion of DEQ and the Administrator, additional documentation deemed necessary to 
ascertain that the Applicant is not buying, selling, or leasing vehicles in a manner that 
circumvents the intent of the Charge Ahead Program may be required. 

i. Income Eligibility 

Household income must be less than 400% of the federal poverty guideline. Income 
eligibility will be verified for the year the vehicle was purchased or leased. If that income 
information is unavailable or inadequate, income eligibility will be verified from a 
previous year. All income verification documentation must reflect the name of the 
Applicant. 

For Charge Ahead income calculations, adjusted gross annual household income will be 
used on a federal Tax Return Transcript. 

ii. Income Verification 
There are currently four methods by which to complete income verification to 
determine whether an Applicant / Low Income Service Providers meets the income 
eligibility criteria for Charge Ahead. 
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1. Categorical Program Eligibility 

To simplify the income verification process for Charge Ahead Applicants, DEQ has 
created a list of income-qualified programs that will substitute full income verification 
and will constitute income eligibility for the purposes of this Program. This Categorical 
Program Eligibility list is subject to change at DEQ’s discretion. If an Applicant 
participates in one of the programs below at the time of purchase or lease of a vehicle, 
DEQ will rely on this to conclude that the person is from a low- or moderate- income 
household for the year the vehicle was purchased. The Applicant must submit proof of 
participation in one of the approved programs that was valid at the time the vehicle was 
purchased. Depending upon the program, documentation required may vary. This 
method of income verification can be used to apply for a prequalification voucher and 
be applied at the point-of-sale/lease, or during a post-purchase application. For 
prequalification vouchers, applicants must complete a separate prequalification voucher 
application as described in IV.A.ii.3. 

Programs currently approved by DEQ are: 
a) Oregon Health Plan / Medicaid 
b) SNAP: Acceptance Letter 
c) Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 
d) Free & Reduced-Price Lunch 
e) HUD Housing Choice Voucher 
f) LIHEAP (Home Energy Assistance) 
g) Employment Related Daycare (ERDC) 
h) Women Infants and Children (WIC) 

 

2. Income Verification (through the Internal Revenue Service) 

The Administrator will complete Income Verification for the year the vehicle was 
purchased or leased. The Administrator will request a tax transcript from the IRS for the 
Applicant from the year the vehicle was purchased or leased. If the tax transcript for that 
year is not available at the time the application is processed, the tax transcript from the 
previous year as required to have been filed by the IRS will be requested. IRS income 

https://www.oregon.gov/oha/hsd/ohp/pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ASSISTANCE/FOOD-BENEFITS/pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ASSISTANCE/CASH/Pages/Apply-TANF.aspx
https://www.ode.state.or.us/apps/FRLApp/Default/Apply
https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/public_indian_housing/programs/hcv/about/fact_sheet
https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/Pages/low-income-energy-assistance-oregon.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/DHS/ASSISTANCE/CHILD-CARE/Pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/PH/HEALTHYPEOPLEFAMILIES/WIC/Pages/index.aspx
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verification is only used during post-purchase/lease rebate applications and may not 
be used to obtain a prequalification voucher. 

The Administrator will review the following sections of an applicant’s federal tax return to 
determine adjusted gross annual income: 

1) On IRS Form 1040: Line 11 

Tax documents may not demonstrate the complete picture for adjusted gross annual 
income as defined by the Program. Other proof of income documentation as 
determined by the Administrator may be used to help calculate adjusted gross annual 
income. 

In some situations, more documentation will be requested at the discretion of the 
Administrator if tax transcripts do not appeal to reflect adjusted gross annual income. 
For Applicants who have not filed a tax return, additional documentation will be 
required to calculate income. Examples of additional documentation that may be 
required include pay stubs, bank statements, W2’s, etc. Filing an extension for the tax 
year being requested is not considered filing for the purposes of the Program’s income 
calculations. In these cases, additional documentation will be requested to evaluate the 
Applicant’s income for that non-filing year. 

3. Income Verification for a Prequalification Voucher 

Charge Ahead Applicants can apply for a prequalification voucher through a DEQ 
webform for the purchase of a new vehicle at a participating dealership. Applicants must 
complete a webform providing DEQ with their name, driver’s license number, contact 
information, household member information and proof of eligibility in one of the 
following two ways: 

a) Categorical Program Eligibility: Proof of income can be demonstrated by providing 
proof of enrollment in an approved income-eligible program (detailed in IV.A.ii.1 of 
this manual). In addition to providing the name, contact and household information, 
proof of current and valid enrollment in one of the approved programs must be 
uploaded to the prequalification application webform for DEQ to review. 

 

b) Income Verification (through the Department of Revenue - DOR): DEQ will complete Income 
Verification based on the tax information available at the time of the prequalification 

https://apps.oregon.gov/deq/voucher/apply/?utm_source=DEQ&utm_medium=egov_redirect&utm_campaign=https%3A%2F%2Focvrp.oregon.gov%2Fapply
https://apps.oregon.gov/deq/voucher/apply/?utm_source=DEQ&utm_medium=egov_redirect&utm_campaign=https%3A%2F%2Focvrp.oregon.gov%2Fapply
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application. Applicants and all household members that filed Oregon State taxes for the 
current year must provide their full names, social security numbers and authorize DOR to 
provide DEQ with tax information to assess for Charge Ahead eligibility. DEQ will coordinate 
with DOR to confirm the applicant's household income for the current tax year is under the 
maximum level to qualify for Charge Ahead eligibility for their household size. If the tax 
transcript for the current year is not available at the time the application is processed, the 
tax transcript from the previous year will be reviewed. DOR income verification is only used 
to obtain a prequalification voucher for the purchase or lease of new vehicles at a 
participating dealership and is not available for post-purchase applications. For 
prequalification voucher applications, income will be assessed based on the adjusted gross 
income listed on the Oregon Income Tax Return (line 7 of the Form OR-40 - full year 
resident return or line 29s on the Form OR-40P – part-year resident return). Approved 
applications will receive a prequalification voucher that can be applied at the time of 
purchase or lease of a new or used vehicle at participating dealerships only. Applicant must 
present the voucher to the participating dealership at the time of purchase or lease. The 
voucher is valid for one Charge Ahead rebate. Vouchers are good for 90 days from the date 
of issuance. 

4. All low-income service providers must be registered as a 501(c)(3) organization based in 
Oregon or have an Oregon-based affiliate. 

V. Rebate Amounts and Funding Availability 
A list of eligible vehicles and rebate amounts will be maintained on the OCVRP website but is 
subject to change any time with or without notice if DEQ’s understanding of the Program 
requirements change. Applicants should refer to the applicable statutes and regulations 
(Oregon Administrative Rule 340-270) for all Program and eligibility requirements. Rebate 
amounts have been established by DEQ for each eligible vehicle model, up to the maximum 
rebate amount for that vehicle type listed in Table 2. DEQ will review the rebate amounts 
annually. If DEQ determines that the rebate amount should be adjusted, DEQ will engage in 
rulemaking to adjust the rebate amounts that are currently established. Specific rebate amounts 
for each eligible vehicle model will be included on the List of Eligible Vehicles on the project 
website. 
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Rebate Amounts 
The Standard Rebate offers up to $2,500 to eligible Applicants who purchase or lease an eligible 
vehicle. 

The Charge Ahead Rebate is an income-verified rebate for low-or-moderate-income households and 
low-income service providers. The Charge Ahead Rebate offers $7,5001 to eligible Applicants who 
purchase or lease a new eligible vehicle and $5,000 to eligible Applicants who purchase or lease a used 
eligible vehicle. Charge Ahead Applicants must meet the following requirements: 

i. 400% of the federal poverty guideline 

Table 2 summarizes the maximum per vehicle rebate amount: 

Table 2 Rebate amounts based on Vehicle Type 
 

WHO QUALIFIES? STANDARD REBATE CHARGE AHEAD REBATE 
 

Eligible Applicants 
Oregon residents, businesses, 
nonprofits, and government 
agencies 

Oregon residents, low-income service 
providers 

Qualifying Vehicles New battery electric vehicles and 
plug-in hybrid vehicles 

New or used battery electric vehicles 
and plug-in hybrid vehicles 

 
Rebate Amount 

$750 for electric motorcycles 
$1,500 for battery under 10 kWh 
$2,500 for battery 10 kWh or 
more 

$5,000 for used vehicles 
$7,500* for new vehicles 

Income 
Requirement 

No income requirement Up to 400% of the federal poverty 
guideline 

The Standard and Charge Ahead Rebates may not be combined 
Combining Vehicle Rebates with Other Incentives 

Applicants may combine OCVRP rebates with other federal, state or local agency incentives, if 
available, to help further buy-down the cost of an eligible vehicle.  

Applicant may not receive more than one OCVRP rebate and an OCVRP rebate may not be 
combined with the “Zero Emission Rebates for Oregon Fleets – ZEROFleet” rebate. Applicants 
may only receive on one of the following rebates for a vehicle: OCVRP Charge Ahead Rebate, 
OCVRP Standard Rebate or a “Zero Emission Rebates for Oregon Fleets – ZEROFleet” rebate.  
 

1 The Standard and Charge Ahead Rebates may not be combined 
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Maximum Rebates per Entity 
Organizations such as businesses, non-profits, Oregon state and municipal governments and 
other public entities are limited to 10 rebates per calendar year. The Administrator will enforce 
this requirement by date of purchase or lease (DOPOL). 

OCVRP has no limit on the number of applications that an individual Applicant can submit. 

i. Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) Requirements 
For the purposes of OCVRP, vehicles under common ownership or entities that have 
fiduciary control of a fleet including, but not limited to, entities sharing a common 
Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN) are considered part of a single fleet even if they are 
part of different subsidiaries, divisions or other organizational structure of a company, 
government agency or other entity. 

All entities, other than individuals, are required to disclose their TIN at the time of rebate 
application. DEQ or its designee may seek financial reimbursement and/or civil and 
criminal penalties from an Applicant for non-disclosure or inaccurate disclosure of its TIN 
or other information relating to common ownership or fiduciary control of the 
purchasing entity. 

 

Funding Availability 
Rebate availability depends on program funding at the time of vehicle purchase or lease. If 
OCVRP funds are depleted, the program will be suspended until funds are available again. 

Charge Ahead Rebate Funding Availability 
In 2025, the Program has $31 million in Climate Equity and Resilience Through Action grant 
funding for Charge Ahead Rebates. DEQ has allocated at least twenty (20) percent of available 
monies deposited per biennium for the Program to Charge Ahead Rebates. DEQ will review 
the progress of OCVRP for funding availability and if existing and anticipated funding is 
expected to be less than $6 million for the year, DEQ will initiate program rule changes to 
decrease the Standard Rebate amount. Doing so ensures sufficient funding remains to meet 
the Charge Ahead allocation. 

VI. Applicant Responsibilities 
Rebate Application Process 

The Applicant is responsible for submitting the rebate application and providing all required 
documentation to the Administrator. Except for Standard and Charge Ahead Rebates assigned 
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to a Participating Dealership, Applicants must accept the rebate directly and cannot assign it to 
any other individual or entity. If an Applicant has a legally authorized representative completing 
their application on their behalf, additional documentation will be required to confirm their 
legal authority. 

The Applicant is responsible for ensuring the accuracy of the information on all rebate 
applications and required documentation submitted to the Administrator. Please contact the 
Administrator immediately if there is a mistake on your application form. Applicants who submit 
an application with an incorrect Applicant name must re-apply. Eligibility will be reviewed based 
on the Terms and Conditions in place at the time a new application is submitted. Extensions 
cannot be granted. 

Submission of false information or false documents as part of the OCVRP may be a criminal 
offense and may be punishable as perjury under the laws of the State of Oregon. DEQ or its 
designee may seek to recoup rebates which were paid based upon submission of false 
information or false documents, whether that information was submitted intentionally or merely 
in error, or for which the dealership, manufacturer, or Applicant is in significant or continual 
non-compliance with the rules governing the Program or State Law. If any person is found to 
have provided false information or fraudulent documents – whether that person receives a 
rebate – DEQ or its designee reserves the right to forward that person’s information to any 
entity that may take enforcement action. This may include a referral for criminal 
prosecution. DEQ or its designee also reserve the right to take any other action allowable under 
the law in response to submission of false information or fraudulent documents. 

 

Required Documentation 
All Program documentation must be supplied to the Administrator to submit a rebate 
application. Any additional or revised documentation must be supplied in the timeframe 
requested or the Applicant will be required to submit a new rebate application if the Applicant 
remains eligible. 

Program communications will be sent via email. Program communications may include but are 
not limited to requests for additional documentation or information and issuance of 
prequalification vouchers. It is the responsibility of the Applicant to submit a correct email 
address in the application and ensure the email address allows emails from the Program. 
Applicants are responsible for emails sent from the Program. We encourage Applicants to add 
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oregoncvrp@energycenter.org and noreply@nic.oregon.gov to their Safe Senders list, and 
review Spam and Junk folders for email from the Program. Applicants are responsible for 
checking their emails related to the Program. Extensions will not be granted. 

The required documentation should be scanned or photographed and submitted securely 
through the OCVRP online platform. Applicants may request a paper application by emailing 
oregoncvrp@energycenter.org and mailing the application and required documentation to the 
Program Administrator: Center for Sustainable Energy, Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program, 
3980 Sherman Street, Suite 170, San Diego, CA 92110. If mailed, the submittal date of 
application or required documentation will be determined by U.S. mail postmark. For security 
purposes, anything sent on removable media (flash drives, CD’s, DVD’s, etc.) will not be 
accepted. Due to security and privacy concerns, it is strongly recommended that all 
documentation be uploaded using the secure online platform. Documentation submitted via 
email will not be accepted. 

All Charge Ahead applications are subject to income verification. Failure to provide 
documentation for income verification will result in the application being canceled and no 
rebate issued. 

Once the Administrator has verified an application meets Program requirements, a rebate will be 
issued to the Applicant or if the Applicant has assigned the rebate to the dealer, to the 
Participating Dealership. 

Required documentation will include, at a minimum, the following: 
1. The application, either submitted through the online platform with acknowledged Terms and 

Conditions or a legible application form, signed and dated by the Applicant or their legally 
authorized representative. 

a. Applicants must contact the Administrator immediately if there is a mistake on 
the application form. Eligibility will be reviewed based on the administrative rules 
and statutory requirements, (and as explained in the Terms and Conditions and 
Implementation Manual) in place at the time a new application is submitted. 
Extensions cannot be granted. 

b. Authorized representatives will be required to supply documentation to demonstrate 
their authority to sign on the Applicant’s behalf. 

mailto:oregoncvrp@energycenter.org
mailto:noreply@nic.oregon.gov
mailto:oregoncvrp@energycenter.org
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c. Applicants who submit an application form with an incorrect Applicant’s name will 
need to reapply within 6 months (180 days) of the purchase or lease date. 

2. Proof of temporary vehicle registration, application for title and registration, or permanent 
vehicle registration for the vehicle listed in the application. The Applicant’s name must be on 
the registration, the registration must be current (not expired), and it must be legible. 

a. Local and state agencies may submit other documents with the prior approval of 
the Administrator. Unacceptable forms of proof of registration include, but are not 
limited to: 

I. A DMV File copy. 

II. An expired registration. 

3. A complete legible copy of the signed vehicle sales or lease contract with all pages 
included. A complete contract includes an itemization of credits, discounts, and 
incentives received, if applicable. The Applicant’s name and the name of the 
dealership must be listed on the contract. 

4. Proof of Oregon residency: 

a. For individuals, including trusts, Doing Business As (DBA’s) and Sole Proprietorships: 

I. A legible copy of the Applicant’s current (not expired) Oregon driver’s 
license. Individuals who do not have an Oregon driver’s license will be 
required to provide proof of Oregon residency in the form of one of the 
following: 

1. A utility or cable bill within the last 3 months. 

2. A copy of the current DMV registration of another vehicle in the name 
of the purchaser or lessee. An expired registration or Planned 
Nonoperation does not meet this requirement. 

3. A signed, dated, and notarized residential rental agreement. 

4. Other valid form of demonstrating Oregon residency as approved by 
DEQ. 

5. For DBA’s, (also known as fictitious business name, assumed business 
name or trade name) a document linking the individual to the DBA. 
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b. For organizations such as businesses, nonprofits, or government agencies: 

I. A legible copy of a local business license, articles of incorporation, or other 
formation document filed with the Oregon Secretary of State. Sole 
proprietorships and DBA’s (Doing Business As; also called fictitious business 
name, assumed business name, or trade name) cannot apply as a business and 
must instead apply as an individual. 

5. Proof of income, for all Charge Ahead applications: 

a. Proof of enrollment/participation in a Categorical Eligibility Program. Proof must 
reflect the Applicants name and enrollment at the time the vehicle was 
purchased or leased 

OR 

b. One completed Household Summary form that reflects household AND a completed 
IRS Form 4506-C for every household member aged 18 and older living in the 
household at the time the vehicle was purchased or leased, regardless of filing 
status or dependency. 

c. Alternate proof of income, such as a tax transcript obtained by the Applicant 
directly from the IRS, may be submitted as approved by the Administrator. Copies 
of an Applicant’s 1040 does not fulfill this requirement. 

d. A valid prequalification voucher submitted via a participating dealership. 

e. All low-income service providers must be registered as a 501(c)(3) organization 
based in Oregon or have an Oregon-based affiliate. 

f. Additional documentation may be requested to help provide complete details on 
income and household size. 

6. Attestation Form, Business, nonprofit, government and public entity only 
a. Applicants must submit an attestation form confirming that:  (1) they have read, 

understand, and agree to these Terms and Conditions; (2) they certify that they 
are providing accurate information; and (3) the information provided can be 
shared for the purposes of processing the application. 

 

Rebate Denial or Cancellation 
All Applicants that have had an application denied or canceled will receive a written explanation 
from oregoncvrp@energycenter.org to the email address on file. Rebate applications that have 
been denied or canceled by the Administrator may be appealed within sixty (60) calendar days 
of the date of denial/cancellation. The appeal letter must set forth all facts that form the basis 
for the appeal. If the only basis for an appeal is that the Applicant disagrees with the policies set 
forth in the OCVRP Terms and Conditions, the Implementation Manual, and Oregon 

mailto:oregoncvrp@energycenter.org
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Administrative Rule Chapter 340 Rule Chapter 340 Division 270, DEQ will deny the appeal. A 
formal letter must be postmarked with proper postage within sixty (60) calendar days of 
application denial/cancellation and addressed to: 

Oregon DEQ 
OCVRP – Appeals 

700 NE Multnomah St, Suite 600 
Portland, OR 97232 

DEQ will respond to an appeal in writing as soon as it is practicable. DEQ’s response to an 
appeal is an order in other than a contested case. 

Distribution of Rebate Funds 
Rebates will be distributed on a first-come, first-served basis contingent upon funding 
availability. Applicants without internet access can contact the Administrator to receive a rebate 
application by mail. The application can be returned by mail with the required documentation. 
The submission date will be determined by U.S. mail postmark. 

The required Program documentation must be submitted by the Applicant at the time of 
application submission. Rebate funds will be distributed within 75 calendar days of 
application approval, contingent upon availability of funds. 

Post-Purchase Standard Rebate and Charge Ahead Rebate funds are dispersed by check. 
Applicants must cash the check within two (2) years of the date on the check. Checks not 
cashed within this timeframe will be canceled, and the rebate funds will be returned to the 
Program. 

If the Applicant assigns the rebate to a Participating Dealership, the rebate funds will be applied 
in the form of a credit towards the purchase or lease of the vehicle. 

The OCVRP rebate is not taxable income, and the Administrator does not issue a 1099 for your 
rebate. However, the rebate could have other tax or financial implications. The Administrator 
cannot offer tax advice of any kind. If you have tax-related questions, please consult with your 
tax advisor. 

Research Participation 
DEQ reserves the right to request participation from Applicants in ongoing research efforts that 
support OCVRP goals. The Administrator shall administer vehicle owner surveys to Applicants to 
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collect data and other information pertaining to eligible vehicle ownership. DEQ will coordinate 
with the Administrator to identify survey parameters and determine the most effective 
mechanism for obtaining information. Applicants are expected to participate in ongoing 
research efforts and surveys as a condition of receiving the rebate. 

Vehicle Ownership Provision 
Applicants are required to keep the vehicle and meet all applicable project requirements for a 
minimum of twenty-four (24) months after the vehicle purchase or lease date. 

Resale of a vehicle or return of a leased vehicle to a dealer may be allowed within this twenty- 
four (24) month period if necessitated by unforeseen or unavoidable circumstances. Applicants 
are required to notify the Administrator to arrange for early termination of vehicle ownership in 
advance of selling, returning, or terminating a lease prior to the required twenty-four (24) month 
ownership period. The Applicant must refund promptly to the Administrator a full or prorated 
portion of their rebate, in an amount equivalent to the original rebate amount divided by 
730 days (24 months) and then multiplied by the number of days remaining in the original 24- 
month period: 

(Original Rebate Amount ÷ 730 days) x (730 – days since vehicle purchase or lease date) 

The Administrator will request details of the circumstances for the early ownership termination 
in writing. 

The reimbursement requirement may be waived by DEQ should unforeseeable or unavoidable 
circumstances be determined to have given rise to a need for the Applicant to sell the vehicle. If 
requesting a waiver, the Applicant must submit a waiver request to the Administrator either by 
mail or through the Program email address that includes an explanation of why the participant 
believes the waiver is appropriate. The following factors will be considered in making a 
decision: 

a) The extent to which repayment would be harsh under the circumstances 

b) The extent to which the rebate recipient appears to be inappropriately taking advantage 
of the rebate Program 

c) Any other factors that DEQ considers appropriate. 

The following circumstances are usually approved for a waiver, unless the factors weigh strongly 
against a waiver based upon the situation’s facts and circumstances: 
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a) Military duty 

b) Death of the Applicant 

c) Totaling of the eligible vehicle 

Examples noted above are a non-exclusive list and exceptions will be reviewed and approved by 
DEQ on a case-by-case basis. All waiver requests will be responded to by DEQ in writing. If an 
Applicant’s waiver is rejected, an appeal may be filed (see Rebate Denial and Cancellation). 

If a manufacturer defect or other unforeseen circumstances require the replacement of an 
OCVRP rebated vehicle with another vehicle of the same technology type (FCEV, BEV, PHEV, etc.) 
or upgrade (e.g., replacement of a PHEV with a BEV), the Administrator, in conjunction with DEQ, 
has discretion to allow updated information to be provided with no return of OCVRP rebate 
funds. To be considered, the replacement vehicle must be on the current list of eligible vehicles 
at the time the replacement is made or be the exact same vehicle that was originally rebated. 
Lease transfers or lease assumptions are not allowed. 

DEQ verifies vehicle ownership through periodic checks of Vehicle Identification Numbers (VINs) 
in the Oregon DMV database. If an Applicant sells or returns the rebated vehicle to the 
dealership and does not receive prior approval, DEQ or its designee reserves the right to recoup 
OCVRP funds from the Applicant and may pursue other remedies available under Oregon law 
for unauthorized early termination of vehicle ownership. 

 

VII. Participating Dealership Responsibilities and Requirements 
Dealerships must follow Program guidelines as outlined in the Implementation Manual and 
Terms and Conditions when completing the sale if they wish to receive reimbursement of the 
rebate amounts. 

Vehicle Pricing 
Participation in OCVRP in no way limits the dealership or the consumer from further 
negotiations on the price of the vehicle. In addition to the Applicant’s rebate amount, all other 
applicable discounts, and incentives, such as manufacturer and dealer discounts available to 
consumers should also be made available by the Participating Dealership. The dealership may 
grant additional negotiated discounts or incentives. 
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Vehicle Eligibility 
The rebate can only be applied to the sale or lease of eligible vehicles. The Eligible Vehicle List 
can be found on the Program website. For more information on what constitutes an eligible 
vehicle, see Vehicle Eligibility Requirements section. 

Rebate Application Process 
Upon a consumer’s purchase or lease of an Eligible Vehicle and execution of the Terms and 
Conditions, the Participating Dealership must apply the rebate to the purchase or lease price of 
such new or used Eligible Vehicles. After the Participating Dealership applies the amount of the 
applicable rebate to the purchase or lease price of an Eligible Vehicle, they may submit a rebate 
application to the Administrator through the Program Website in accordance with the 
Implementation Manual to seek reimbursement for such rebate. The Administrator will review 
the application to determine whether the Participating Dealership has met all of the terms, 
conditions and requirements set forth in the Program documents. If the request for the rebate 
reimbursement is approved by the Administrator, the rebate will be paid to the Participating 
Dealership. 

Dealerships providing point-of-sale rebates to OCVRP Applicants will apply the rebate, in its 
entirety, to the purchase or lease of an eligible vehicle. In return, the dealership must submit an 
application to the Administrator to be reimbursed for the rebate amount. All Program 
requirements must be met, and the application must be approved by the Administrator to 
receive reimbursement. 

All Charge Ahead Rebate applicants must be prequalified first and have a prequalification 
voucher ready at point-of-sale to have the Charge Ahead New or Used Rebate applied. If 
an applicant is not prequalified, but believes they qualify for the Charge Ahead New 
Rebate, they must apply for both Charge Ahead New Rebate post purchase and dealers 
should not be providing the Standard Rebate at point-of-sale. The Standard and the 
Charge Ahead Rebates may not be combined.  

i. Consumer Claimed Rebates 
Consumers have the option to allow the dealership to claim the rebate as described above, or to 
claim the rebate themselves after purchase. If a consumer indicates to the Participating 
Dealership at any point during the sale that they prefer to claim the rebate and receive the 
payment directly, the Participating Dealership shall not proceed with the rebate claim process. 
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Required Documents 
In order to obtain reimbursement for the rebate from the Administrator, a Participating 
Dealership must supply the required documentation as outlined in Applicant Responsibilities to 
prove that the Applicant is eligible for the rebate. This includes: 

1. Purchase/Lease Agreement 

2. Proof of Vehicle Registration 

3. Proof of Residency 

4. Rebate Assignment Form, signed by the Applicant acknowledging that they have 
received the rebate from the Dealership. Blank copies of this form will be available on 
the Program website. 
**Charge Ahead only: Provide Prequalification Voucher Number on Rebate Assignment 
Form 

The requirements for these documents are listed in the Required Documentation section and all 
must reflect the name of the Applicant. 

Distribution of Rebate Funds 
Point-of-Sale Standard and Charge Ahead Rebate funds are typically dispersed electronically. 
Participating Dealerships are responsible for providing the Administrator with correct ACH 
information for rebate payments. The Program is not responsible for rebate funds that are 
incorrectly deposited as a result of incorrect ACH information supplied by the Participating 
Dealership. DEQ and the Administrator will work with the Participating Dealership to the extent 
possible to correct the deposit of funds. The Participating Dealership must provide Automated 
Clearing House (ACH) payment information to the Administrator and agree to receive all rebate 
payments electronically. It is the responsibility of the dealership to update the Administrator if 
the ACH information changes. DEQ may disperse Point-of-Sale rebate funds to Participating 
Dealerships via mailed checks, if funding source restrictions limit the agency’s ability to 
distribute electronically. 

If the dealership rebate application meets all requirements, the Administrator will pay the rebate 
amount to the dealership electronically. Rebate funds will be distributed within 75 calendar days 
of application approval, contingent upon availability of funds. 

Unwinds, Rollbacks, and Returns 
In the event of an unwind, rollback, or return of a rebated vehicle, the Participating Dealership 
must notify the Administrator by emailing oregoncvrp@energycenter.org with details of the 

mailto:oregoncvrp@energycenter.org
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change in status of the purchase or lease within three (3) business days. If the rebate payment 
to the dealership for the vehicle has already been initiated, then the Administrator will provide 
instructions to repay the rebate funds. If the rebate payment has not yet been initiated, it will be 
canceled since the purchase or lease agreement in which the rebate was included is no longer in 
effect. 

Termination 
If at any point a Participating Dealership does not follow the Program requirements described in 
this Implementation Manual or the Terms and Conditions, the Administrator may terminate a 
dealership’s participation in the Program’s point-of-sale program. 
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VIII. Terms and Abbreviations 
“Adjusted Gross Annual Income” is determined by the amount reported on an Applicant’s 
federal tax return as reflected on their IRS tax transcript. Since tax documents may not 
demonstrate all income as defined by OCVRP, other proof of income documentation may be 
requested. See Income Eligibility section for additional detail. 

“Administrator” is the entity responsible for implementing the Program. The Administrator, the 
Center for Sustainable Energy, was selected by the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality 
through a competitive bid process to administer the Program. 

“Applicant” means a person or individual as defined in ORS 174.100. It includes individuals, 
corporations, associations, firms, partnerships, limited liability companies and joint stock 
companies or a public body as defined in ORS 174.109 means state government bodies, local 
government bodies and special government bodies. 

“Battery Electric Vehicle (BEV)” means any vehicle that operates solely by use of a battery, or 
that is powered primarily through the use of an electric battery but uses a flywheel or capacitor 
that also stores energy to assist in vehicle operation. 

“Business” means an enterprise, organization or association entered into for common purpose. 
Businesses include, but are not limited to, limited liability companies or partnerships, 
cooperatives, corporations, S corporations, not-for-profit and non-profit organizations, 
associations, and investor-owned utilities. Businesses are delineated by Taxpayer Identification 
Number (TIN). Vehicles owned by a business are considered part of a single business even if 
they are part of different subsidiaries, divisions or other organizational structures. For the 
purposes of OCVRP, franchises, divisions or subsidiaries doing business under a common name 
will be considered one entity, even if they do not share a TIN, at the discretion of DEQ. 

“California Air Resources Board (CARB)- certified” means a vehicle that has been certified as a 
ZEV or a Transitional Zero Emission Vehicle wand issued an Executive Order by CARB in 
accordance with the provisions of the California ZEV Regulation (Section 192(2), Title 13, CCR).  

“Charge Ahead Rebate” means a rebate for the purchase of a new or used light-duty zero- 
emission vehicle with an electrochemical storage capacity or a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle 
issued through the Charge Ahead Program. 

“Consumer” means any prospective vehicle purchaser or lessee, vehicle purchaser or lessee, or 
prospective customer of a dealership. 

“DEQ” is the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality. 
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“Eligible Used Vehicle” means a light-duty zero-emission vehicle or plug-in hybrid 
electric vehicle that would have been eligible for the Standard Rebate at the time of its 
original sale or lease had the rebate program in OAR 340-270-0010 to 0500 existed or 
is a direct model predecessor of an eligible vehicle as defined in OAR 340-270-
0030(4)(a)(A). 

“Fleet” means vehicles under common ownership or fiduciary control, including but not limited 
to entities sharing a common Taxpayer Identification Number (TIN). Vehicles are considered 
part of a single fleet even if they are part of different subsidiaries, divisions, or other 
organizational structures of a company, government agency, or other entity. 

“Floor Model/Test Drive Vehicle” is provided by original equipment manufacturers to car 
dealerships for the purpose of test drives and other consumer interactions. Also referred to as 
dealer demo. Oregon dealerships may temporarily operate a floor model or test drive vehicle on 
public roads with “dealer” license plates, not requiring vehicle registration with the Oregon 
Department of Motor Vehicles. 

“Gross Annual Household Income” includes the gross annual income of the Applicant and all 
other individuals in the household at the time the vehicle was purchased/leased ages 18 years 
and older, whether they are related to the Applicant or not. 

“Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)” means the vehicle weight described on the original 
manufacturer Line Setting Ticket provided to the vehicle dealer. 

“Household” means an individual living alone, a family with or without children, or a group of 
individuals who are living together as one economic unit. 

“Lease Date” means the day that the lease agreement is signed. For Tesla vehicles and other 
vehicles ordered without a lease agreement, this will be the date of first registration. 

“Light-Duty Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle” means a motor vehicle that 

a) Has zero evaporative emissions from its fuel system when operating as an electric vehicle 

b) Has an onboard electrical energy storage devise with useful capacity of 10 or more miles 
of urban dynamometer driving schedule (UDDS) range, as described by the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency in 40 CFR 600.116-12 on electricity alone. 

c) Is equipped with an onboard charger. 

d) Is rechargeable from an external connection to an off-board electrical source 

e) Meets the super ultra-low emission vehicle standards for exhaust emissions, as 
certified to standards in California Code of Regulations, Title 13, section 1961(a) 
(4)(2003) 
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f) Has a warranty of at least 15 years and 150,000 miles on emission control components 

g) Can travel at a speed of 55 miles per hour 

h) Has an on-board internal combustion engine 

i) Has at least four wheels 

“Light-Duty Zero-Emission Vehicle” means a motor vehicle that 

a) Has a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,500 pounds or less 

b) Can travel at a speed of 55 miles per hour or more 

c) Has at least 4 wheels 
d) Is powered 

a. Primarily by an electric battery and may or may not use a flywheel energy 
storage device or a capacitor that also stores energy to assist in vehicle operation 

b. By polymer electrolyte membrane fuel cells or proton exchange membrane fuel 
cells that use hydrogen fuel and oxygen from the air to produce electricity 

c. Primarily by a zero-emission energy storage device that provides enough power 
for the vehicle to travel 75 miles or more using only electricity and may or may 
not use a backup alternative power unit that does not operate until the energy 
storage device is fully depleted. 

"Low-income service provider” means a service provider that provides health, dental, social, 
financial, energy conservation or other assistive services to low- or moderate-income 
households in Oregon. All low-income service providers must be licensed to operate in 
Oregon. 

“Low- to Moderate-Income Household” means a household with income less than or equal to 
400 percent of the Federal Poverty guideline. 

“Motor Vehicle” means a vehicle that is self-propelled or designed for self-propulsion (as per 
ORS 801.360) 

“Neighborhood Electric Vehicle (NEV)” means a motor vehicle that is 

a) Powered using an electric battery 

b) Has a gross vehicle weight not exceeding 3,000 pounds 

c) Can travel at a speed of up to 25 mph 

d) Has at least four wheels 
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DEQ will require certification to zero-emission standards in CA Code of Regulations Title 13, 
section 1962.2 to show a vehicle meets these specifications. 

“New Eligible Vehicle” means a motor vehicle that 

a) Qualifies as a light duty zero-emission vehicle with an electrochemical energy 
storage capacity, a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle, a Neighborhood electric vehicle or 
a zero- emission motorcycle; 

b) For the Standard Rebate, is new or has been previously used only as a dealership floor 
model or test-drive vehicle; 

c) Has not been previously registered; 

d) Is constructed entirely from new parts that have never been the subject of a retail sale; 

e) Has a base Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price (MSRP) of less than $50,000 if a battery electric 
or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. Fuel cell vehicles must have a MSRP of less than $60,000; 

f) Is manufactured by the Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) or its authorized 
licensee; 

g) Has an odometer reading of less than 7,500 miles per ORS 803.420(6)(a), 805.100 or 
805.120; 

h) Is covered by a manufacturer’s express warranty on the vehicle drive train including 
the applicable energy storage system or battery pack, for at least 24 months from the 
purchase or lease date; 

i) Is certified by the manufacturer to comply with all applicable federal safety standards 
issued by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration for new motor vehicles and 
new motor vehicle equipment. Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards are found in Title 
49 of the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 571. 

“Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM)” is the company that produces the parts and 
equipment for the vehicles. 

“Participating Dealership” refers to a dealership that is eligible to receive reimbursement from 
OCVRP after applying rebate funds directly to the purchase or lease price of an eligible vehicle. 
Dealerships must complete enrollment and training with the Administrator before being listed 
as a Participating Dealership. 

“Point-of-Sale” or “POS” The application process whereby an Applicant assigns the rebate to 
a Participating Dealership and applies the value of the rebate as a credit towards the purchase 
or lease of a new or used eligible vehicle at the Point-of-Sale or Lease (POS); also known as 
“cash-on-the-hood”. 
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“Prequalification” refers to the process of being pre-approved for the Charge Ahead rebate, prior to the 
purchase or lease of the vehicle. 

“Prequalification Voucher” refers to the proof of Charge Ahead prequalification for the purposes of the 
OCVRP Charge Ahead rebate. 

“Program” refers to the Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program. 

“Public Entity” means state government bodies, local government bodies and special 
government bodies. 

“Purchase Date” means the day that the purchase and sales agreement is signed. For Tesla and 
other vehicles ordered without a standard purchase agreement, the purchase date will be the 
date of registration. 

“Rollback/Unwind Vehicle” is a vehicle returned to a dealership shortly after being purchased 
and operated by a buyer. Rollbacks can occur if a buyer’s financing is rejected. An unwind 
occurs when an Application for Registration of New Vehicle is completed, but the sale of the 
vehicle was not consummated, and the buyer never took delivery. 

“Vehicle Dealer” means a person engaged in business in the state of Oregon that has been 
issued a vehicle dealer certificate under ORS 822.020 or a person engaged in business in 
another state that would be subject to ORS 822.005 if the person engaged in business in 
Oregon. It does not include a person who conducts an event that lasts less than seven (7) 
consecutive days for which the public is charged admission and at which otherwise eligible 
vehicles are sold at auction or sells an otherwise eligible vehicle at auction at an event that 
meets that description. 

“Zero-Emission Motorcycle (ZEM)” means a motor vehicle that 

a) Has zero evaporative emissions from its fuel system 

b) Can attain a speed of 55 miles per hour or more 

c) Is designed to travel on two wheels 

d) Is powered by electricity 

DEQ will require documentation to prove that a motorcycle has met these qualifications with a 
successful completion of the most current California Zero-Emission Motorcycle Evaluation 
Procedure, as defined in California’s Implementation Manual for the Clean Vehicle Rebate 
Project and Issuance of a “pass” determination and verification that the vehicle meets the 
specified range and acceleration requirements by the California Air Resources Board (CARB). 
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“Zero-Emission Vehicle (ZEV)” means a motor vehicle that is certified to zero-emission 
standards in California Code of Regulations, Title 13, section 1962.2. 

“Zero Emission Rebates for Oregon Fleets - ZEROFleet” means Oregon DEQ’s incentive 
program providing rebates for the purchase or lease of zero emissions medium and heavy-
duty vehicles in OAR 340-270-0030 and OAR 340-270-0600 through OAR 340-270-0700. 
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