OCVRP Background and Goals

Program Overview

The Oregon Clean Vehicle Rebate Program (OCVRP) offers rebates to qualified Oregon residents, businesses, nonprofits and government agencies who purchase or lease eligible zero-emission vehicles. It is not a tax credit. DEQ designed the Program to reduce vehicle emissions by encouraging the purchase or lease electric vehicles instead of gas vehicles. There are two (2) rebates offered through OCVRP: Standard Rebate and Charge Ahead Rebate.

The Standard Rebate

The Standard Rebate provides up to $2,500 toward the purchase or lease of new, eligible zero-emission vehicles.

  • Oregon Residents can apply for the Standard Rebate at point of sale at a participating dealership or apply post-purchase using the online application.
  • Oregon business, nonprofits and government agencies can only apply post-purchase. Standard Rebates for businesses, nonprofits and government agencies are not offered at point of sale. To apply after taking possession of the vehicle, please complete the post-purchase rebate application.

The Charge Ahead Rebate

The Charge Ahead Rebate provides low- to moderate-income households up to $5,000 rebate toward the purchase or lease of eligible new or used zero-emission vehicles. To see if you meet the income requirements for your area, please use the Income Eligibility Calculator.

  • Oregon Residents can only apply for the Charge Ahead post-purchase. The Charge Ahead Rebate is not offered at dealership point of sale. To apply after taking possession of the vehicle, please complete the post-purchase rebate application.
  • The Charge Ahead Rebate can be combined with the Standard Rebate for a total of up to $7,500 when an eligible Applicant purchases or leases a vehicle that qualifies for a rebate under both programs.

WHO QUALIFIES? STANDARD REBATE CHARGE AHEAD REBATE
(purchase or lease through Dec. 31, 2021)
CHARGE AHEAD REBATE
(purchase or lease on or after Jan. 1, 2022)
ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS Oregon residents, businesses, nonprofits & government agencies Oregon residents Oregon residents, low-income service providers
QUALIFYING VEHICLES New battery electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicle New or used battery electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles New or used battery electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles
REBATE AMOUNT $750 for zero-emission motorcycles
$1,500 for battery under 10 kWh
$2,500 for battery 10 kWh or more
$2,500 $5,000
INCOME REQUIREMENT No income requirement Up to 120% of area median income (AMI) Up to 400% of the federal poverty guideline

Program Goals

The Program is designed to encourage adoption of zero-emission vehicles, reduce vehicle emissions and air pollution from gas vehicles, and advance progress toward the state’s greenhouse gas reduction goals.

The Program supports Oregon’s EV strategy. Learn more by visiting goelectric.oregon.gov.

Program Background

On August 18, 2017, Governor Kate Brown signed House Bill 2017, which, among many other transportation investments, established a program to provide rebates to Oregonians who purchase or lease eligible zero-emissions vehicles (ZEVs). The Program was designed by the Oregon Legislature to encourage higher adoption of ZEVs, reduce air pollution and advance progress toward the state’s greenhouse gas reduction goals.

In May 2018, the Zero-Emission and Electric Vehicle Rebate rules were adopted by the Environmental Quality Commission that established the Program’s requirements.

Funding for the Program is generated from a tax imposed on car dealers for “the privilege of engaging in the business of selling taxable motor vehicles at retail in this state.” Program implementation was delayed due to a lawsuit regarding the funding mechanism. On August 2, 2018, the Oregon Supreme Court determined the privilege tax could be utilized for the Program. 

In December 2018, the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) began issuing Standard Rebates.

In 2019, DEQ selected the Center for Sustainability (CSE) via a competitive DEQ grant solicitation to administer and implement the Program. CSE began issuing Standard and Charge Ahead rebates in 2020.

DEQ receives $12 million per year for the Program, which sunsets on January 2, 2024.